Monday, May 26, 2014

A CREATURE OF MOONLIGHT

A Creature of MoonlightBook Review:  A Creature of Moonlight

Author:  Rebecca Hahn
Published:  May 2014
Series:  No
Genre:  YA Fantasy

The Setting - Taken from Goodreads
A stunning debut novel about a girl who is half dragon, half human, and wholly herself.

As the only heir to the throne, Marni should have been surrounded by wealth and privilege, not living in exile-but now the time has come when she must choose between claiming her birthright as princess of a realm whose king wants her dead, and life with the father she has never known: a wild dragon who is sending his magical woods to capture her.

Fans of Bitterblue and Seraphina will be captured by A Creature of Moonlight, with its richly layered storytelling and the powerful choices its strong heroine must make.



My Two Cents
Wow.  Just wow.  It has been a long time since I found a book that can compete with Seraphina or Juliet Marillier.  And I loved it.  Can I get more of these books up in here?!!  Hahn creates a forest full of creatures that are as magical as they are terrifying.  And in the midst of it all, a young girl, Marni, must decide who she is and why she is drawn to the overgrowing forest. This is a self-discovery journey of an imperfect protagonist who learns what is means to love and the difference between freedom and responsibility.  Make note, this is not a book for the reader that wants action all the time.  Rather Hahn weaves her magic of writing through rich description, often by Marni's thoughts which can get wildly off course.  I loved A Creature of Moonlight, 4.5 out of 5 stars.  Highly recommended if you can handle the sometimes heavy but beautiful description. Especially if you want a shorter, but just as magical book that can rival Juliet Marillier!

No comments:

Post a Comment